Wormy Prays to the Netti Pot Gods

I never had allergies as a kid, teenager or young adult.  I could eat anything, never got sick and had energy to spare.  These days, my nose is constantly clogged, avocado will literally kill me and I’m beat every single day.

The sinus issues have been a problem for at least a year and are continually getting worse. I don’t know if its age, the pollen is stronger now then ever or I’m just getting allergies to everything indoor and out, but I couldn’t take it any more.

First I went to the pharmacy and deliberated over 1000 cold/sinus/allergy pills. I had one symptom on this box, one on that box….this is some confusing shit. So I just decided to go talk to the pharmacist. He recommended Claritin. So I took it and it works really well. But I have to take it every single day or I’m screwed.  I can tell the minute it wears off.  My eye starts leaking non-stop and I can’t smell anything. Its fricking annoying.  Now I’m not a big pill popper so this is kind of a big deal for me. I mean, does Claritin mix okay with vodka?  (it does) Could I over dose? (I didn’t) Will my liver shut down in protest? (it hasn’t yet)

I decided to supplement this with a more holistic approach. I went and bought a Netti Pot. If you’ve never heard of it, it’s a small tea pot with a very long spout.  You fill it with lukewarm salt water and jam the long spout into one nostril. You then tilt your head and pour the water into your nostril and it goes up into your head and comes out THE OTHER NOSTRIL.  Its like you are part of a carni side show.

So now I have it. And it sat on my dining room table for 4 days still in the shrink wrap. I was scared to death of it.  I mean, I COULD DROWN ON ONE DROP OF WATER FOR CRYING OUT LOUD!!! So I knew I couldn’t do it for the first time alone in the house for fear of drowning in my own mucus, and I couldn’t do it before we went out cause what if it messed up my hair?

So Saturday morning I decided that today was the day.  I was still in my pj’s, not showered so if my hair got wet it was no big deal. I opened the package. I read the directions cover to cover.  I made Chilla read the directions cover to cover in case I drowned myself he would know what to do. I measured out the water and the salt. And I did it. And Chilla dry heaved taking this photo. So not kidding…he sometimes has a weak stomach.

That is actually coming out my other nostril

It is one crazy ride.  It doesn’t hurt, its not even uncomfortable…its just weird. But OH MY GOD does it work!  It drains you so much its crazy what comes out. And the headaches go away, I swear I have more energy from it just cause I can breathe properly.

So now, me and Netti are BFF’s…Chilla won’t come within 10 feet of me and wants to vomit every time I do it, which has been like a lot but I’m not snoring as much which he likes.  Now if only there was a cure for avocados.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Wormy Prays to the Netti Pot Gods

  1. Too funny! I’ve been wanting to try this. I’ve been afraid. Maybe I’ll give it a go. I get sinus infections like it’s a hobby or something. I wish I was kidding. They calmed down when I had my tonsils out, but not by much.

    Kudos to Chilla for the picture too. I’d probably have to laugh if I had to take that picture.

  2. Hot Mama

    I bought one today just cause Wormy told me too…and I am addicted. I have already done it twice and will probably do it again before bed…also trying to convince HP that he needs to do it! Good times! It’s been the highlight of my day.

  3. Hey I’ve done this too and it works pretty well. I don’t like the feel of it though, maybe I’m doing it wrong if you say it feels like nothing. I use Zyrtek, and only half a pill a day and it keeps me open and clear, but not awake at night. Claritin-D was great but I couldn’t sleep at night so don’t get the “D” by mistake, unless you are headed to an all-night rave.

    Why are we all addicted to these products? Is the gov’t pumping allergens into our air and getting kick-backs from the drug companies?? hmmm

  4. lauren_hbg

    I actually just read an article on these in last month’s Women’s Health – my future sister-in-law swears by these things, she has allergies like yours it sounds.

    Apparently they’re good for using every so often, but not to make a habit out of it because it’s bad for using all the time. I don’t know, I’m not doctor, I just thought I’d pass the info along. 🙂

  5. coffee

    I think you need to toss some of that over to Hot Mama..whats up with your nasals ladies?

    • Seattle

      i think i might actually buy a nettie pot after reading this. can’t be any worse than pouring hydrogen peroxide in your ears and letting it clean them out, right?

  6. Big Dancin' Mama

    Big fan of the netti pot. Once you get hooked, you’ll try to convince everyone you know with a nose that they have to have one.

  7. I use a Medi-Rinse, which is the same theory as a neti pot, but it is basically a squeeze bottle-so you can get a little pressure (and us tall girls don’t need to bend in half to get gravity going).

    You are allergic to Advocados? Me too. It sucks. I (used to) love guacamole
    You probably know this but Watch out for bananas and latex-both highly related to Advocado allergies. (I have not had a banana since I was 13-and that sucks worse than Advocados) My latex allergy is (so far) “only” burns from bandaids that have latex–but one can’t be too careful. I developed the whole allergy (Banana-then advocado-then latex) over 10 or more years.

  8. Glad to hear the Snot Pot works for you. I have similar nasal issues, so I’ll have to try it.

Leave a Reply

