Wormy Blinked and 20 Years Went By

The other day I got an Evite for my 20th High School Reunion. At first I thought this had to be a mistake. 20 years? Really? No, can’t be…other people are old and go to 20 yr HS reunions, like my mother….not me. And then reality sets in…yep Wormy…YOU! Wasn’t it just 1990? Wasn’t I just 18…21…25…30….35…Oh GAWD!!! How did this happen??? Will someone please tell the 18 year old in my brain that she is almost 38 and that she is past the What Not To Wear rule of “No miniskirts after 35”….anyone?

Once I got over the shock of how 20 years went by when I wasn’t looking, I started to look back and see that 1990 was an eventful year. When you’re 18 you really don’t notice these things. I was too busy teasing my hair and burning my eyeliner to care about the news. Here are some of the highlights:

Desert Shield Begins
The Simpsons, Seinfeld, Twin Peaks and In Living Color premier
DC Mayor, Marion Barry is arrested for drugs
Nelson Mandela is freed after 27 years in prison
Mick Jagger and David Bowie make the scandalous news that they “Did IT”
Pete Rose goes to jail for 5 months for tax evasion
1st Saturn car rolls off the assembly line
Margaret Thatcher resigns
Gas is $1.16/gallon
Pittsburgh Pirates win NL East title
England/France Chunnel is completed
East and West Germany merge into Germany
Rod Steward and Rachel Hunter marry
Pete Sampras beats Andre Agassi in the 110th Men’s US Tennis
Pink Floyd’s “Wall” is performed at the site of the Berlin Wall
Pittsburgh Pirate Barry Bonds is 2nd to hit 30 HR & steal 50 bases in a season, he goes on to win MVP
It’s confirmed that Milli Vanilli did not sing on their album

Its unbelievable to imagine a world where the Pirates don’t suck, gas is affordable, lip synching is just as scandalous as gay sex, the country known as Germany is just coming into existence, Saturn is still making cars and Andre Agassi & Rachel Hunter are relevant.

Being in a nostalgic mood I dragged out my Senior Memories album. While you look at these have the song “Memories” from Cats playing in your head.

Star Lake Opens....Greatest thing since Civic Arena. Billy Joel was the first show there ever.

Yes, thats a Banana Clip! Oh and look at those eyebrows....why didn't someone hold me down and pour wax on me?

Thats a whole lotta Aqua Net up there...my hair still looks the same, minus using the blow dryer with the hair spray so it would stick out and up

Prom ~ Me and my hs boyfriend, GI Joe....are puffy sleeves and dyed to match shoes still in fashion?

Such rebels wearing shorts under our robes...scandalous! EEkk...are those acid washed???

Senior year was one of the greatest years of my life, but not the best. Do I miss high school? No. Would I ever want to go back and do it all again? No way. I love my life at almost 38 just as much as I did at 18. I’m planning on going to the reunion, escaping to a place of yonder year, catching up, oohhhing and aawwwing over everyone for a few hours, laughing at memories and shedding a tear or two and then closing the yearbook on this chapter of my life. I can’t wait to see what the next 20 years will bring. The best is yet to come.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Wormy Blinked and 20 Years Went By

  1. Wait, you’re how old?

  2. Going to my 20th reunion made it very clear to me that I needn’t worry about going to a 30th. It was nice to catch up with some of the people I used to hang out with, but once you’ve found out what they’ve done with their lives, and assessed the degree to which they’ve fallen apart, you don’t really have a need to do it again.

  3. I LOVED my 20 year reunion! We all were on a RSS class of 88 Myspace page beforehand and I was so surprised how many kids I never hung out with back in HS I now had a lot in common with and we’ve become good friends since the reunion.

    Seeing the old pictures everyone donates to the slide show is so awesome for memories, I hope they do that at yours. You’ll come away with recommited old friends and new-old friends, new memories, and feeling very satisfied with yourself, I bet.

  4. Angie

    I graduated in 87, and I , too, had more than one banana clip…and burned my eyeliner…used tons of aqua net, the one in the white can with the pink writing only…ok ok and acid wash jeans with the tight ankle and baggy butt! Gaaawd, those were horrid!

  5. Next year is my 20th and I feel the same way, although I have no desire to go to my reunion.

  6. This October is my 30th. I’ve never been back for anything since the day I got my diploma. They probably think I died.

    I’ll probably go, if only for some decent blog material. I hear they easier and more enjoyable to attend the older you get. People care less and less about looks and how much you make. They just marvel at who’s still alive.

  7. Seattle

    I loved the photos. Karate lady shared pics of her 1990 wedding last night- same styled- gawd I’d forgotten!

Leave a Reply

