Meet and Greet Friday: Popping Hot Mama’s Podcamp Cherry

I finally, FINALLY made it to Podcamp. No giant sun blasts destroyed the Earth, neither my kids, nor my husband got sick, and I had fantastical shoes. Of course. Fantastical and totally inappropriate for standing in one spot for hours passing out wine…but I digress.

I was planning on wearing a Bitchburgh t-shirt (which you can totally purchase and be JUST LIKE ME) and jeans to the meet and greet, but Wormy was having none of that. I had to ‘dress up’ she said. I had to wear a sexy top and sexy shoes. When Wormy tells me to wear something, I listen…she knows how to put an outfit together, that much is true!

I picked Wormy and Chilla up at their hotel…that’s right, I said hotel. That is how they roll on big weekends. Most of us just eat a burrito and take a cab home. Wormy and Chilla get to be hung over in style.

We headed to Alpha labs and set up shop next to Father Spoon of  Should I Drink That. I know Hot Papa would have been jealous of the beer set up they had there…he loves all that micro brewed shit. I saw a bottle of Railbender Ale and vomited in my mouth a little bit. I had a not so great night drinking that stuff a couple years ago and I haven’t been right ever since. No offense to the beer itself, it’s not the beer, it’s me. And my inability to actually drink beer that doesn’t closely resemble water. But I digress again.

As most of you know, I am not a huge Twitter girl. Or tweeter. Or whatever. See, I don’t even know the lingo! But I figured since everyone else was doing it, the meet and greet would be a great time to use the twitter on my phone. So of course, it wouldn’t work! My phone tweets all the time. As in ACTUALLY tweets. It makes a sound like a bird and I have no idea why. I will just be sitting there and it starts chirping like a bird. I assume it has to do with twitter. It wakes me up in night, chirp-chirp-chirping away. So why, on the biggest social media night of the year would it just NOT work? I don’t know. That is my lovely luck I guess. That effer just chirped right now, as I am sitting here typing this cause it hates me. But I digress once again. I have ADHD today I think.

Anyway, the wine was flowing…well, most of the wine was flowing. I had purchased my two boxes of Franzia…my usual Crisp White and the Shiraz, which I have not tried. The Crisp White was a hit, but no one and I mean NO ONE wanted my Shiraz. What was wrong with it? How do you know that you don’t like it if you have never even tried it? What makes you think that a box which contains 5 bottles worth of wine for $13.99 WON’T be anything but awesome? Lucky for me, I was able to give it away and did not have to carry it back to my truck so SCORE on that.

I had a blast meeting everyone! Thank you to everyone who came out and stopped by to visit with the Bitches. It was totally surreal for me, meeting a bunch of you awesome people in person…you people who I do not know and yet lots of you know the crazy details of my mixed up life. Creepy. It was also sort of surreal when I realized just how short I actually am when I had @SecretAgentL and @TallCathy both standing in front of me at the same time. Good times. Here’s the pics.

XOXO
Hot Mama

Hello, my name is Hot Mama and I am here to serve you cheap wine. You love it. You know you do.

Clearly, we are working very hard...

...time to reward ourselves with a glass of wine!

The Railbender...it's there, just waiting for someone to drink too much of it...

My five feet two inches never felt so short as when I was standing in front of these two gorgeous ladies! *muah*

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Meet and Greet Friday: Popping Hot Mama’s Podcamp Cherry

  1. Glad you liked PodCamp. It’s always cool when new people have great things to say about it.

    I normally don’t like wine, but decided I’d try some of the boxed stuff. I was very impressed, however I never found out what it was. All I remember is that it was white and sweet.

  2. Sorry about the Shiraz, HM, I’m just partial to dry whites, box or otherwise. Reds usually feel “heavy” to me. Or maybe that’s just my head, afterwards.

    Loved hanging out with you guys this weekend… made it worth the trip right there.

    I’ve got Part 1 of my weekend recap up on my site, which features a great pic of you and Wormy safeguarding the vino.

    And yes, I’m getting on The Twitter.

  3. According to wine experts, Shiraz wines have “aromas and flavors of wild black fruit (such as blackcurrant), with overtones of black pepper spice and roasting meat. The abundance of fruit sensations is often complemented by warm alcohol and gripping tannins.”

    Okay, for one, I don’t need my wines tasting lke roasting meat. And nothing says “you will be praying to the god of porcelain” like ingesting “gripping tannins.” I’ll stick with a nice Merlot, Cabernet, or a Pinot–which I did on Friday night, thanks to BitchBurgh! It was great seeing most of you again.

Leave a Reply

