Mindbling Had A Very Merry Bitchmas

I must have been a very good girl this year, because Mavrick  Claus went above and beyond on the Christmas prezzies. I got a Keurig one cup coffee maker, and if you think I’m not excited about that, then you haven’t been to my house yet. Everyone that comes in gets bombarded:  “Do you want a cup of coffee? Cause I can totally make you one. Fresh. In under a minute. Seriously. You better have some coffee. You look like you need some.”

But as much as I love my new coffee pot, and believe me, I have already considered sleeping with it, it isn’t my favorite prezzie. That lofty honor is reserved for my new running gear and my marathon training class I will be taking with Fleet Feet Pittsburgh.

Before you start calling me crazy, let me preface all of this by saying I have not yet committed to running the FULL marathon. I am currently registered for the half, and that is my goal. Except. Except I can already run 8.5 miles, and I’m doing my first half marathon in March, and a Tough Mudder in April, and after that, won’t I need a new goal to reach?

I seem to gravitate towards things that are considered extreme, like skydiving, natural childbirth and raising a teenager. And I have finally figured out why. I am constantly trying to push myself to prove to myself (and others) that I can do it, because for a long time no one thought I was going to amount to much of anything.

I was a single, 20 year old mother on welfare. I partied too much. I smoked. I had tattoos. I wasn’t going to be shooting to the top of anyone’s Most Likely to Succeed list, not even my own.

I can’t pinpoint the exact moment that I decided to change my life. There was no grand A HA moment.  I just got sick of people looking down on me. I got sick of knowing I could do something, but having people think I couldn’t.

That was the best fuel for me. Think I can’t do something? I will show you. I knew I was smart and I surely wanted better for Jr., so I had to make some life changes, quickly.

I set small goals and I worked to meet them. Get better job. Done. Graduate college. Done. Get betterer job. Done. Get bestest job ever. Done. Meet man of dreams. Done. Fall so in love that the very fabric of my life changes. Done. Have baby. Done. Now what? Run a marathon? Why? Because someone out there thinks I can’t do it. And I am going to prove them wrong. Bring.It.On.

So yes, I must have been a very good girl this year. And I plan on being an even better one next year. After I ace this marathon, I’m thinking that maybe mountain climbing would be the next logical step. Everest, anyone?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Mindbling Had A Very Merry Bitchmas

  1. It’s funny how often being able to say “Eff Yew!” is the greatest motivation.

Leave a Reply

